Scan me!
Event Calendar
Exhibition

Follow_Me: New narratives in contemporary photography, China – Switzerland

2018.04.21 - 06.04 closed
Follow_Me: New narratives in contemporary photography, China – Switzerland

 

Time: 2018.4.21-6.4

Venue: OCAT Shenzhen- HallA、Hall B

Curators: Peter Pfrunder, Shi Hantao

Artists:(Swiss)David Favrod, Anne Golaz, Romain Mader, Virginie Rebetez, Salvatore Vitale,(Chinese) Kimisa, Celine Liu, Lau Wai, Shi Zhen, Zeng Yicheng

From April 21st to June 4th, 2018, “Follow _Me: New Narratives in Contemporary Photography, China – Switzerland” was presented at the Exhibition Hall A and the Hall B of OCAT Shenzhen. Playing the role of author/photographer/narrator, the participating artists will once again invite the audience to “listen to me”, and, attempt to attract the audience to become new narrators by sending the “Follow Me” signals. As social media growingly permeates life, every user of it has already become a narrator of life. When narrating has become part of daily life, documentary and fiction are there left for everyone to ponder over.

One of the most remarkable features in contemporary photography, both in China and in Switzerland, is the way in which the medium is used for telling a story, creating an imagined reality between documentary and fiction. Within a coherent body of work, the artists build up a visual narrative along a story line or a certain plot. This can be linear or non-linear, elliptic, following a time line, a spatial movement or a voyage. The story can assume the form of an (auto)biographical account, or a travelogue, or investigate unknown realities with dreamlike lyrical sequences. These stories are based on the suggestive power of photographic sequences which go far beyond the simple depiction of reality. They play in a creative way with the ambiguity of the images and the voids between the captured fragments of time. 

The title of this show, Follow_Me, refers to the role of the author / photographer / narrator who is guiding his audience through the universe of images by selecting, ordering and editing his photographs along his story line. The artists see themselves as storytellers but leave it up to the viewer to speculate about the so-called «truth». Follow_Me also alludes to narrative forms in social media, to platforms on which every participant behaves like a storyteller regarding his or her everyday life. In the exhibited works, the crossover or combination of media appears to be natural elements of storytelling. The forms and techniques of display in the exhibition vary according to the narration. Still and moving images, video projections, lightboxes and objects are intertwined in a playful mixture. Not surprisingly, most of the artists have also published their stories in photobooks, using the potential of double pages, layouts and multiple reading options for developing their narratives.

Chapter one

The first chapter presents the works of David Favrod, Kimisa, and Salvatore Vitale. They have in common that they use photography to ask questions about themselves, their cultural and biographical identity, their own past or their relation to history. Their autobiographical approach focuses on their childhood and youth. The photographers seem to travel back into an unconscious past, trying to fill the gaps of their conscious memory with lyrical dreamlike explorations and with narrative imagination.

大卫 法沃/David Favrod,展览现场/Exhibition View

大卫 法沃/David Favrod,展览现场/Exhibition View

Kimisa,展览现场/Exhibition View

Kimisa,展览现场/Exhibition View

Kimisa,展览现场/Exhibition view

Kimisa,展览现场/Exhibition view

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

Chapter two

In the second chapter, the focus lies more on a territory or an environment that holds an important place in the biography of the artists. Lau Wai and Anne Golaz investigate physical spaces as a form of individual expression. The traces which people have left behind, objects and even the specific ambiance of a room reveal themselves as part of the photographers' identity. The story presented by Zeng Yi Cheng is a love story, a very personal visual poem. All these works also deal with the passing of time and try to find coherence or meaning in a world full of incomprehensible fragments. Past and present are mixed in an intricate way.

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

Flo Mains,20x26cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

Papa sur lit,20x26cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

Rosiers,26x20cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

曾忆城/Zeng Yicheng,展览现场/Exhibition View

曾忆城/Zeng Yicheng,展览现场/Exhibition View

曾忆城/Zeng Yicheng,展览现场/Exhibition View

曾忆城/Zeng Yicheng,展览现场/Exhibition View

Chapter three

Blurring the boundaries between documentary and fiction is one of the strategies used by the artists in the third chapter. Both Celine Liu and Romain Mader stage themselves in front of the camera or invent situations in which they can playfully change their identities, thus creating fake autobiographies or small stories that never happened. Identity, in both cases, becomes a question of performance and role play, something that depends more on the perception of reality than on hard facts. Images are a crucial element in the self-definition of the protagonists.

刘思麟/Liu Silin,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘思麟/Liu Silin,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘思麟/Liu Silin,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘思麟/Liu Silin,展览现场/Exhibition View

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,展览现场/Exhibition View

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,展览现场/Exhibition View

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,展览现场/Exhibition View

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,Ekaterina,40x50cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,Ekaterina,40x50cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,Ekaterina,40x50cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

Chapter four

The last chapter deals with individual and collective memories: to what extent can we rely on our memories? It presents two artists who work like historians, using found photographs and archival documents for reconstructing the lives of people they don't know. Photography becomes a tool for research, but at the same time the artists question our ideas about photographic evidence. In the stories told by Virginie Rebetez and Shi Zhen the documents cannot prove anything; the reality they represent is overruled by the projections of the spectator, who creates a new story based on a combination of facts and imagination. The coherence of the narration appears to be the only reliable reference.

弗吉尼·瑞贝特/Virginie Rebetez,展览现场/Exhibition View

弗吉尼·瑞贝特/Virginie Rebetez,展览现场/Exhibition View

弗吉尼·瑞贝特/Virginie Rebetez,展览现场/Exhibition View

弗吉尼·瑞贝特/Virginie Rebetez,展览现场/Exhibition View

弗吉尼·瑞贝特/Virginie Rebetez,展览现场/Exhibition View

石真/Shi Zhen,展览现场/Exhibition View

石真/Shi Zhen,展览现场/Exhibition View

Opening Time

2018 04.21(Saturday)

Related event

Scan me!
活动日历
展览

听我说——中瑞当代摄影中的新叙事

2018.04.21 - 06.04 已结束
听我说——中瑞当代摄影中的新叙事

 

展期:2018年4月21日-6月4日

地点:OCAT深圳馆-展厅A、展厅B

策展人:彼得·福伦德、施瀚涛

艺术家:(瑞)大卫·法沃(David Favrod)、安妮·格拉兹(Anne Golaz)、罗曼·马德尔(Romain Mader)、弗吉尼·瑞贝特(Virginie Rebetez)、萨尔瓦托雷·瓦塔伊尔(Salvatore Vitale)、(中)Kimisa、刘思麟、刘卫、石真、曾忆城

 

主办:OCAT深圳馆

支持:华侨城股份有限公司

特别鸣谢:瑞士文化基金会上海办公室、瑞士摄影基金会、谷仓当代艺术空间

2018年4月21日至6月4日,“听我说——中瑞当代摄影中的新叙事”在OCAT深圳馆展厅A、展厅B呈现。艺术家们以作者/摄影师/叙事者的角色,再次向观众发出 “听我说”的邀请,提出聆听的诉求,同时,也以“Follow Me”(跟我来)来试图招引观众成为新的叙述者。随着社交媒体日益渗入生活,每一位社交媒体的使用者都成为生活的讲述者。当讲述成为日常,纪实与虚构则留给彼此来考量。

在中国和瑞士的当代摄影实践中,最显著的一个特点就是这一媒介正在被用于故事讲述,并且在纪实和虚构之间创造出一个想象的现实。艺术家们以一组相互关联的照片为基础,顺着一条线索或者一个特定的情节建立起相应的视觉叙事。它可能是线性或者非线性的,曲折的,跟从时间的推进、空间的转变或者一段旅程。这些故事可能是传记(或自传)式的,或者是旅行见闻,再或者以梦幻般的抒情的照片序列去探寻一个未知现实。它们的实现是基于照片序列中所藏有的提示性的力量,这个力量远大于对于现实的简单描述。艺术家们创造性地利用了图像的模糊性和被捕捉到的时间碎片之间的空隙。

此次展览由两位策展人彼得·福伦德和施瀚涛共同策划,展览标题“听我说”是艺术家以作者/摄影师/叙述者的角色向观众发出的邀请,艺术家根据一条故事线索对照片加以选取、排列和编辑,来引导观众对照片的阅读。艺术家把自己作为讲故事的人,但究竟何谓“真相”,则留给观众自己去思量。“听我说”也暗指社交媒体上的叙事形式,在这些媒体平台上,每一个参与者都是自己日常生活的讲述者。在本次展览中,作品多在各种媒介之间跨越和融合,这也是故事讲述的基本特征。而展示的形式和技术也因不同的叙事而各不相同,静态和动态的图像、投影、灯箱和物件相互交织在一起。同时,大多数的参展艺术家也已经出版了摄影书,这是他们讲故事的另一个重要方法;他们运用了对页、排版和多点阅读等各种书籍所特有的可能性,在纸面上发展他们的叙述。

展览共分为四部分。第一部分是对身份的探讨,大卫·法沃、Kimisa和萨尔瓦托雷·瓦塔伊尔在自传式的故事中发出“我是谁”的追问;在第二部分中,刘卫、安妮·格拉兹、曾忆城围绕着各自生命历程中的重要地点展开回忆与追寻;在展览的第三部分,刘思麟和罗曼·马德尔通过角色扮演模糊着虚构与纪实的边界;而展览在展厅B呈现的最后一部分则有着历史考古的意味,弗吉尼·瑞贝特和石真借助影像记录这种“不可靠”的证据探讨个人和集体的记忆参展艺术家作品的展示形式在摄影语言的基础上,因不同的叙事而各不相同,静态图像、动态影像、投影、灯箱、物件交织在一起,在空间中营造出一个想象的现实。

第一部分

本次展览的第一部分包括了大卫·法沃Kimisa萨尔瓦托雷·瓦塔伊尔的作品。他们都用摄影来向自我发问,探求自己的文化和自然身份,以及自己的过去、自己和历史的联系等等。他们以自传的方式,关注自己的童年和青年时代,仿佛穿越回无意识的过往,通过诗意梦幻的语言和对想象的叙述来填补意识和记忆的罅隙。

大卫 法沃/David Favrod,展览现场/Exhibition View

大卫 法沃/David Favrod,展览现场/Exhibition View

Kimisa,展览现场/Exhibition View

Kimisa,展览现场/Exhibition View

Kimisa,展览现场/Exhibition view

Kimisa,展览现场/Exhibition view

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

萨尔瓦托勒·瓦塔伊尔/Salvatore Vitale,展览现场/Exhibition View

第二部分

第二部分艺术家的创作更多聚焦于艺术家生命历程中的一些重要地方,及其周围的领域和环境。刘卫安妮·格拉兹将物理空间作为个人表达的基础。人们在空间中所留下的痕迹、物件,甚至房间里特别的气氛,都成为摄影师身份的一部分。曾忆城在这里呈现的则是一段爱情故事,一组非常个人化的视觉诗句。所有这些作品都围绕着时间的流逝,试图在令人费解的碎片所构成的世界中找到其中的相关性和意义。过去与当下在这里纠缠在了一起。

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘卫/Liu Wei,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

安妮·格拉兹/Anne Golaz,展览现场/Exhibition View

Flo Mains,20x26cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

Papa sur lit,20x26cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

Rosiers,26x20cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

曾忆城/Zeng Yicheng,展览现场/Exhibition View

曾忆城/Zeng Yicheng,展览现场/Exhibition View

曾忆城/Zeng Yicheng,展览现场/Exhibition View

曾忆城/Zeng Yicheng,展览现场/Exhibition View

第三部分

模糊纪实和虚构的边界是第三部分的艺术家,刘思麟罗曼·马德尔的叙事策略。他们把自己置于镜头前,并且打造出各异的场景,他们的身份在其中发生了有趣的转变,从而成为一部虚构的自传,或者一系列从未发生过的小故事。在此,身份成了与行为和角色扮演相关的问题,它更多地取决于对现实的感知而非固有的现实。图像成为主人公自我定义的重要元素。

刘思麟/Liu Silin,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘思麟/Liu Silin,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘思麟/Liu Silin,展览现场/Exhibition View

刘思麟/Liu Silin,展览现场/Exhibition View

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,展览现场/Exhibition View

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,展览现场/Exhibition View

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,展览现场/Exhibition View

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,Ekaterina,40x50cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,Ekaterina,40x50cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

罗曼·马德尔/Roman Madar,Ekaterina,40x50cm,图片由艺术家提供/Courtesy of the artist

第四部分

展览最后一部分所讨论的是个体和集体的记忆问题:我们的记忆到底在多大程度上是可靠的?这里的两位艺术家像历史学家一样工作,用收集来的照片和档案材料重新构建他们并不认识的人的生命故事。摄影成了研究的工具,但与此同时艺术家也质疑了我们所抱有的“照片即是证据”的想法。在弗吉尼·瑞贝特石真所讲述的故事中,记录并不能证明任何东西;它们所再现的现实取决于观者的投射,参观者基于被混合了的事实和想象,创造出新的故事。叙述中的连贯性构成了故事可靠性的唯一参照标准。

弗吉尼·瑞贝特/Virginie Rebetez,展览现场/Exhibition View

弗吉尼·瑞贝特/Virginie Rebetez,展览现场/Exhibition View

弗吉尼·瑞贝特/Virginie Rebetez,展览现场/Exhibition View

弗吉尼·瑞贝特/Virginie Rebetez,展览现场/Exhibition View

弗吉尼·瑞贝特/Virginie Rebetez,展览现场/Exhibition View

石真/Shi Zhen,展览现场/Exhibition View

石真/Shi Zhen,展览现场/Exhibition View

开幕时间

2018 04.21(周六)

相关活动

[ 讲座 ] 何以保障瑞士?

2018.04.27 (周五) 已结束

本次讲座为“听我说”展览系列公共项目之一。萨尔瓦托雷·瓦塔伊尔的项目“何以保卫国家”,致力于发现让这个国家得以发展、存在和承续的核心信条。本次艺术讲座,瓦塔伊尔将分享项目“何以保卫国家”及其关联的研究与创作成果。

查看更多

[ 讲座 ] 外人

2018.06.02 (周六) 已结束

本次讲座邀请“听我说”参展艺术家大卫·隆·法沃,讲述自己作为拥有日本与瑞士两种血统的人如何将摄影作为自我身份探索的媒介。

查看更多

[ 讲座 ] 明日记忆

2018.05.25 (周五) 已结束

本次讲座为“听我说”展览系列公共项目之一。艺术家刘卫分享这次展出的作品、及后的系列和现时进行的项目,透过她的作品,从迁移、家庭历史、个人经历到不同年代及地域的流行文化,去探讨身份的形成。

查看更多